30 Day Song Challenge : Part 1

So…. I Just realised I start almost all my blog posts with the words so or ok…. I need to find a new opening line.

Alrighty then. So… fuck there I go again… why do I always you know what never mind we’ll do it live! FUCK IT WE’LL DO IT LIVE!! FUCK!!!!

Anyway where was I.. oh yeah, as it’s lent and all and I decided I was gonna do the whole blogg post a day to keep the doctor away thing(that works right?), I also came to the conclusion on Facebook that I was going to partake in the 30 day song challenge that everyone seems to be doing these days.

For anyone reading this that doesn’t know what that is, the basic jist of it is that for 30 consecutive days, you must post the names (and if you want the music video or a link for the audio) of a song that corresponds to the song type that is mentioned on the list.

I guess the whole idea is that people will get a better insight as to your musical taste or lack there of. What? Oh right the list. Ok well the list consist of 30 different types, naturally; one for each day. It starts with your favourite song and goes all the way down through a list of songs you love, you hate, you love to hate, you hate to love etc until finally getting to day 30 where it’s your favourite song at the time of posting but a year previous.

The list goes a little something like this:

Day 1 : Your Favourite song

Day 2 : Your Least Favourite song

Day 3 : A song that makes you happy

Day 4 : A song that makes you sad

Day 5 : A song that reminds you of someone

Day 6 : A song that reminds you of somewhere

Day 7 : A song that reminds you of a certain event

Day 8 : A song that you know all the words to

Day 9 : A song that you can dance to

Day 10 : A song that makes you fall asleep

Day 11 : A song from your favourite band

Day 12 : A song from a band you hate

Day 13 : A song that’s a guilty pleasure

Day 14 : A song no one would expect you to love

Day 15 : A song that describes you

Day 16: A song that you used to love but now hate

Day 17 : A song that you hear often on the radio

Day 18 : A song that you wish you heard on the radio

Day 19 : A song from your favourite album

Day 20 : A song that you listen to when you’re angry

Day 21 : A song that you listen to when you’re happy

Day 22 : A song that you listen to when you’re sad

Day 23 :A song that you want to play at your wedding

Day 24 : A song that you want to play at your funeral

Day 25 : A song that makes you laugh

Day 26 : A song that you can play on an instrument

Day 27 : A song that you wish you could play

Day 28 : A song that makes you feel guilty

Day 29 : A song from your childhood

Day 30 : Your favourite song this time last year.

After the jump, I’m gonna post the songs I’ve chosen and I’ll update this post as I make my way through the 30 days ( days 1 – 10 are on this post, 11-20 can be found here and 21 – 30 will be found here eventually).

Day 1 : Your Favourite song: Hotel California by Eagles

This, to me is one of the all time greatest pieces of music ever created. The guitar solo is amazing, the tune is melodically beautiful the only improvement needed was to do a live acoustic  version of the song which… oh awesome they did that didn’t they. Truly a song worthy of the gods of rock!

Day 2 : Your Least Favourite song: Bad Romance by Lady Gaga

I’m actually going to refuse to post that on my blog I dislike it that much. Anything by that woman that I’ve heard has resulted usually in me covering my ears and singing loudly LALALALALALALALALALALALALALALA until someone informs me the song fininshed 5 minutes ago. But honestly, of all her songs this one irritates me the most. Right from the very begining with the rararas to the end with the ohra ahahahahas. Some people complain about metal being just noise, I do the same about her. Bleugh! DX

Out of honour to the challenge however, I did post it on my facebook page and I’ll link to it too but no more!

Day 3 : A song that makes you happy: Here Comes the Sun by The Beatles

Here Comes the sun is one of those simple to play yet pleasing on the ear songs that just make life worth living. Whenever I’m in a bad mood or feeling stressed about stuff, this song can always help me realise that everything will work out eventually. even the story behind the writing of the song is one of stress free living:

“Here Comes the Sun” was written at the time when Apple was getting like school, where we had to go and be businessmen: ‘Sign this’ and ‘sign that’. Anyway, it seems as if winter in England goes on forever, by the time spring comes you really deserve it. So one day I decided I was going to sag off Apple and I went over to Eric Clapton’s house. The relief of not having to go see all those dopey accountants was wonderful, and I walked around the garden with one of Eric’s acoustic guitars and wrote “Here Comes the Sun”

George Harrison.

Day 4 : A song that makes you sad: Winter by Joshua Radin

Up until recently I didn’t actually know the name of this song or it’s singer. However, every time I hear it I always think of that episode of scrubs where Dr Coxs brother in law Ben Sullivan, who was magnificently played by Brendan Fraser, passed away. To me, that is up there in the saddest moments of television and always, without fail, has my eyes welling up.  Infact, while I’m talking about it, one of the things I loved about scrubs while it was on was its ability to make me laugh while also being one of the only shows on tv ever that could get me to cry. And yes I will admit to crying while watching that show. Show me a person who didn’t tear up when Dr Cox Lost those three patients in season 5 or when Laverne died in season 6 and especially in the episode where ben dies, and I’ll cut their chest open and show you what a black hole looks like.

Day 5 : A song that reminds you of someone: The Long and Winding Road by The Beatles

I know, I know, it’s my second Beatles song and I’m only 5 days into the challenge. So sue me. This song has some meaning to me. Just over 5 years ago, my piano teacher passed away. Ever since I was a wee boy of about 3 or 4, he’s been there for me, teaching me piano and general lessons in life and how to be a better person. a few years before he passed, he noticed my complete lack of interest in learning the classical piano. Instead of giving up on me and letting me quit like I wanted, he decided to allow me to pick the music I learned and he would learn it himself and then teach it to me. So I rooted out a book of Beatles hits and this was one of the ones he thought me. After a year or 2 of that he went on to teach me jazz piano which I did for two years until he passed away. His death was an untimely one to say the least as it happened half way through my learning of grade 2 jazz piano. I did however, continue and completed grade two with an honours. After that though I stopped lessons cause it didn’t feel right to me to replace the man who had such a huge impact on my life at various stages. But yeah back to the song, I may not know how to play it properly on the piano any more, but every time I hear it, it reminds me of him. RIP Owen Walsh.

Day 6 : A song that reminds you of somewhere: Australia by The Manic Street Preachers

I’ve only been to Australia twice in my life But it’s already found a place in my heart and is one of the places I can actually see myself living when I’m older. On top of that, I also love this song thanks to a Tv show on Nickelodeon from the late 90’s that goes by the name of The Renford Rejects! I spent a good portion of my childhood watching that show, and by a good portion i mean about 2% of the time I spent watching Tv from the when I was 9 till I was about 13 so not all that much but still, I enjoyed it all the same.

Day 7 : A song that reminds you of a Certain Event : Walking Away by Craig David

So yeah, this song was one of the many songs that we had to sing during or 6th class graduation play waaay back when I was a wee nipper in primary school. The whole class were on stage and we had been told that for this song we would be holding lighters and swaying. The play went off without any fire related problems but the same can’t be said for pre show preparation… Before I go into that however, Seriously! Who the hell thinks that giving 20 10-11 year olds lighters was a good idea?!?!? It’s like telling a child that he can play with an electric iron while having his bath. Things will go wrong!

Actually, I’ve decided that I’m gonna use this story as my latest post for two reasons, first cause it means I don’t have to come up with a new idea for a blog later on, and 2, it’ll save space in this post which is getting to be a bit too long already.

Day 8 : A song you know all the lyrics to : Tribute by Tenacious D

This was a pretty easy choice to be honest. I basically had an entire album to choose from. Tenacious D were the first band that I saw live (that I enjoyed watching, as opposed to the many concerts that I had been dragged to as a child with my parents… ok that’s a lie, I also enjoyed the bosco gig when I was a wee kid but anyway). I went to see them with 2 of my mates around the time the movie was coming out and had gone on a listening binge of their first album before the show. I now have every instance of thatt album engrained in my brain and I’ll be damned if anything shoves those lyrics from my brain! Long live Tenacious D.

Day 9 : A song you can dance to : Dong 2 by Blur

To be honest, I’m not much of a dancer. Any time I find myself at a club with friends, I usually tend to be the guy who says ” oh don’t worry bout me guys, I’ll mind the seats and bags, you go off and dance if you like” or something to that extent. Anywho, when it comes down to it, the only form of dancing I’ll ever partake in is a bit of the ol head banging when a proper heavy tune comes on and, although only 2 mins long, song 2 is one of the greatest songs to get me up and jumping around like a mad animal. When I was in Oxegen 2 years ago, one of the few moments I remember clearly (because I’d sobered up by then) was when blur played song 2. I don’t remember what was played before, or after, but I do remember song 2 and I remember that it. was. epic!

Day 10 : A song that makes you fall asleep : Something about us by Daft Punk

This song brings me back to a night where myself and a few mates were hanging out in my mate Jacks gaf down the country. We had a few drinks, Daft Punk on in the background, and our laptops in a circle round the kitchen table. We trolled the crap out of a few people on facebook for being dicks and stealing college funds ( Looonnng story that I probably won’t cover cause I can’t remember the full details and some dick will see the blog post about it and try to sue me or something silly like that). Anyway, after a long night of trolling, it was this song and what follows it on Daft Punks Discovery album that had me slightly nodding off to sleep until I noticed and decided to actually head off to sleep. It’s just such a calming and relaxing groove. Starting to make me sleepy now even….

songs 11-20 here.

Posted on 13/03/2011, in 30 day song challenge, random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

